Quiet Man Cottage Museum is a novel concept which will give the visitor a total Quiet Man experience as if they were actually ‘on-set’. Located by the river at Circular Road, Cong, between actual locations used for the filming, the ground floor of the cottage has been designed as an exact replica of ‘White-o-Mornin’ Cottage.
Painstaking effort has ensured that all the furnishings, artifacts and costumes are authentic reproductions. The four poster bed and the tables and chairs which Mary Kate cherished, the thatched roof, emerald green half door and white washed front combine to charm all those who visit it. The Quiet Man Museum is a must for any Quiet Man enthusiasts, who can read what it was like when Hollywood took over the village of Cong in 1951 from local newspaper articles on display in the Museum.
This museum was visited a number of times by John Wayne’s family and by Maureen O’Hara. John Wayne’s widow, Josephine, wrote in the Museum’s visitor’s book – “Duke would have loved this!”.
The Gift Shop is also not to be missed with charming Quiet Man memorabilia and souvenirs at the best rates in Cong.
Museum and Gift Shop opening times: 10am to 4pm from 1 April to 31 October. Entry outside of those dates and times is available if a private chauffeur tour is booked.
Award winning guided walking tours of The Quiet Man film locations around Cong village including dressing up in costumes at the Museum. Interactive tour to Innisfree, the Dying Man’s house, Pat Cohan’s Bar, the Reverend Playfair’s House, the courting scenes, the fight scenes and the John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara commemorative statute. You might even be brought on tour by the tour guide who accompanied Maureen O’Hara on her reminiscing tour to the locations on the 60th anniversary of the making of the movie. Hear the tales of the Wayne family visit and the Maureen O’Hara visit from the tour guides and stories of what Cong was like in 1951 when it was invaded by Hollywood! Come on our tour and become a Hollywood star in your own movie memory dvd!
Cong Ghost Tours also available – Be afraid, be very much afraid! Historical and archaeological one hour walking tours of Cong village – stories of Ghosts, Ghouls, Fairies, Murder and much more.
Tours daily from 11am from Easter to October inclusive. For prepaid groups at anytime email: [email protected] or telephone: 00 353 (0)949546089